Home
Rooms
Photos
History
Letters
Contact

The Gleason Hotel

12 North Lake Drive * Chautauqua, NY 14722 * (716) 357-2595 * gleasonhotel@netzero.com





CottageWhat was to eventually become The Gleason Hotel began as a cottage, built circa 1886, on the corner of McClintock and North Lake Drive, by Dr. John Steven of Hartford, Conn. In 1900, the furnished cottage was sold to Clement Studebaker, Jr. for $1985.00. Mr. Studebaker had the cottage moved to a lot owned by Sarah J. Gleason, located on what was then known as North Avenue (presently North Lake Dr).



Early 1900'sIn 1915 dramatic changes were made. A third and fourth floor were added and porches extended. The "New Gleason" advertised thirty new rooms with hot and cold water and electric lighting. Rates ranged from $10 to $15 per week, with an additional $7 per week for Table board. In 1919, Mrs. Gleason's sons acquired the hotel and owned it until 1933 when they lost it in the Depression. Mr. & Mrs. Bart Gifford purchased the hotel in 1939, keeping the building essentially the same while gaining a reputation for immaculate housekeeping.


Early 1900'sThe King family's ownership of The Gleason began in 1969 when, while looking to purchase a cottage on the Chautauqua grounds, they ended up with a hotel instead! What appealed to them was the lovely location of the building on the lakefront and its careful construction with natural wood having been preserved throughout the interior. The four King children, three sons and a daughter, grew up in Chautauqua with each taking their turn working at the hotel during summers.



During the past 35 years The Gleason has become known for its friendly service and its comfortable home-like atmosphere. Many guests return year after year, requesting their favorite rooms and renewing friendships. As an alternative to the modern condo-experience, we invite you to step back in time and experience Chautauqua as it was intended to be.


12 North Lake Drive * Chautauqua, NY 14722 * (716) 357-2595 * gleasonhotel@netzero.com